Anatomy for Artists (Dover Anatomy for Artists)

Rating: 
Amazon Price: $15.95 $11.58 You save: $4.37 (27%). (as of January 19, 2018 5:02 AM – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Anatomy in great masters simplified, with 95 Marsh drawings not seen elsewhere. Full text, over 200 illustrations.

Product Details

  • Series: Dover Anatomy for Artists
  • Paperback: 209 pages
  • Publisher: Dover Publications; Revised ed. edition (November 1, 1970)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0486226131
  • ISBN-13: 978-0486226132
  • Product Dimensions: 8.1 x 0.6 x 10.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.7 pounds

Customer Reviews

The book is wonderful. Keep in mind Marsh’s Renaissance bias

One person found this helpful.
 on July 10, 2014
By bobbalouie
Marsh was a serious student of Renaissance and Baroque art and one of the most important artists of the 1920s, 30s and 40s in the Ashcan School tradition. The book is wonderful. Keep in mind Marsh’s Renaissance bias, celebrating and sometimes exaggerating — slightly — the human form in the tradition of Rubens and Michelangelo. I love the book, I love Marsh. Highly recommended.

Master of the figure

5 people found this helpful.
 on June 19, 2008
By Harry
Anyone who thinks the R. Marsh is “sloppy” does not know or understand the artist. If you ever stood in front a Marsh 24×30 ink life drawing sheet you might change your mind. His drawings are done from life, in ink, as a direct interpretation and have never been surpassed by any other modern day artist. Anyone who works with the figure in their art work would give anything to understand the model half as good as Marsh did. His anatomy book was done from standing in front of master drawings, in front of sculptures, gallery paintings and memory. They were not done at one time for this book, but over a lifetime of study and then assembled. They are not tracings, or accurate medical anatomy references nor are they meant to be. They were used to help him with the figures in his paintings. Copying art work has been a traditional way to learn from a Master that is not around anymore to teach. To make an exact copy of any art is to miss the point of the lesson. It should be interpreted by you and your hand, hence the word “study”. Anyone who thinks this is book is not up to par needs to go back and look at the hundreds of ringed sketchbooks, tempera paintings, and frescos of a man who made a living drawing and painting his whole life. You might even want to pick up one (1) of his life drawing sheets for about $25,000 if you are lucky enough to find one for sale.

A Guide For The Artist

2 people found this helpful.
 on January 31, 2002
This book is designed to be only a guide for artists in the drawing of human anatomy. It is useful to illustrators, particularly in the fields of commercial illustration and animation. My wife and I have numerous friends within these fields who have found this work indispensable.

The Best

 on December 9, 2011
By Janice L. Bertram
This is the go-to book for serious artists. I you want to learn to draw figures, this is the best place to start. If you are a beginner, it will help you to understand the human body, if you are an accomplished artist, it will be an always-by-your side reference.

Classic resource for artists

One person found this helpful.
 on May 17, 2007
By MSN
This book reflects the discerning eye and historical knowledge of this very remarkable artist. It is a resource for anyone who is interested in drawing the body. Reginald Marsh died more than 50 years ago. But his remarkable NY Custom House frescoes, complicated paintings and fine drawings live on to influence the rest of us. I have the original book and have given the Dover copy to many people.

Anatomy for my success

3 people found this helpful.
 on October 25, 2001
this book is wonderful. I cannot understand anyone giving this masterpiece a bad rating, unless they are not an artist.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailby feather

Leave a Reply

Find-Info.Org © 2015 All Rights Reserved Frontier Theme
The owner of this website is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon properties including, but not limited to, amazon.com, endless.com, myhabit.com, smallparts.com, or amazonwireless.com.
Home Privacy Policy Terms Of Use Contact Us Affiliate Disclosure DMCA Earnings Disclaimer