Strunk’s Source Readings in Music History, Vol. 4: The Baroque Era, Revised Edition

Amazon Price: $42.74 (as of January 21, 2018 4:54 AM – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Though traditionally labeled "Baroque," the seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries in music could as easily be termed "early modern," since many of the genres that are popular today—were established during that time.And as music itself was becoming more and more of a public affair, discussions and writings about music increased greatly. In The Baroque Era, Margaret Murata presents twoscore readings from a constellation of personalities whose thoughts and opinions help define the period for us. We hear, of course, from the composers (Monteverdi, Schütz, Rameau, Bach) and the theorists (Artusi, Simpson, North, Mattheson), but we also find the words of nonmusicians, ranging from the famous (Joseph Addison, Lady Mary Montagu) to the unknown "Truthful Reporter."

Product Details

  • Paperback: 256 pages
  • Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company; Revised edition (February 17, 1998)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0393966976
  • ISBN-13: 978-0393966978
  • Product Dimensions: 6.1 x 0.7 x 9.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.2 ounces

Customer Reviews

Five Stars

One person found this helpful.
 on June 11, 2015
By Armando Fuentes

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailby feather

Leave a Reply

Find-Info.Org © 2015 All Rights Reserved Frontier Theme
The owner of this website is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon properties including, but not limited to,,,,, or
Home Privacy Policy Terms Of Use Contact Us Affiliate Disclosure DMCA Earnings Disclaimer